On Safety.

I’ve lived a pretty safe life. What I mean by that is ever since I was born my life has always had a next step.

From elementary school through high school it was always expected of me to enjoy a summer break then go back to school. Safe.

Post high school I lived at home and attended community college for two years. While there I took all of my general ed classes and transferred to UC Irvine. Safe.

I spent the next two years of my life at UCI and graduated with a bachelor’s degree. Safe.

After my graduation I interned for a summer at a film festival, then found a job at a marketing company filming and editing, all while living with my parents. Safe.

As my first anniversary of post-college living approached I decided to leave my marketing job and spend my summer working at Sugar Pine Christian Camps. Safe…well kinda. You see, I could have very well stayed in Monterey working the same job and living the same life feeling good and safe. There was not some great inciting incident propelling me to change my life and take chances. It wasn’t until this summer that I actually stepped back, looked at my life, and realized I was not pursuing my dreams. Rather, I had followed my path of safety.

As my summer comes to an end I find myself in a precarious situation. I can either move home and go back to a marketing job, or I can take a chance, step out from what I have come to considered safe, and work toward the life I dream of.

I think Yvon Chouinard said it best, “the fear of the unknown is the greatest fear of all.” I don’t know what is next and it scares me, but beyond these sensations of fear and doubt lie deeper feelings of excitement and anticipation.

I don’t know much, but what I do know is God is good and He cares for my future and me, and that comforts me in these times of uncertainty.

/farmerrobbie

About farmerrobbie

My head is comparable to a field of good soil where seeds land and yield crops a hundred times more than what was sown.
This entry was posted in Analogous Thoughts, Growing Up, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment