Chilled

There’s a chill like none other. A type of chill that seeps into your bones and never lets go. I’ve experienced this type of chill on multiple occasions and it’s terrible. There always seems to be no “curing” it, no matter how many layers I add or how hot of a shower I take, the chill still lingers on.

Regardless of this I do what I can to not only rid myself of this chill but also prevent it. Extra thick socks, thermal shirts, wool sweaters, knit caps, corduroy pants, hot tea. My allies. Nevertheless, I’m not always successful, but I endure and make the best of it.

I don’t let the chill keep me at home though. I take full advantage of rainy days to hike, go on bike rides, read books, experiment with cooking, and spend quality time with family and friends, but over the years I’ve met many people who seem to let small things like chills debilitate them.

It’s too cold, it’s too hot, it’s too early, it’s too late, it’s too expensive, it’s too cheap, I’m just not comfortable.

They find excuses to keep them from experiencing life and let worry choke out any inclination to adventure. They rather remain home where it’s safe and predictable than hit the trail or paddle out. It’s a scary world, but I believe that big rewards require big risks, and I pray to God that I’m courageous enough take the risks.

/farmerrobbie

About farmerrobbie

My head is comparable to a field of good soil where seeds land and yield crops a hundred times more than what was sown.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Analogous Thoughts, Life, Winter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

