Tub-a-Dub-Dub

It was a lazy Sunday evening. Clement and I were both going to be home doing nothing, so we decided to go to the grocery store, stock up on some sweets and make it a special evening of sorts. As I brought a pot of water to boil to cook some pasta we put on an episode of Pee-Wee’s Playhouse and chuckled to ourselves as I ate my pasta and Clement snacked on his jelly beans.

As the episode came to a close so too did my bowl of pasta; we then elected to make good use of the apartment complex’s pool and hot tub for once. This would be the defining moment in morphing an average fun Sunday evening into a great experience of true friendship. As we sat in what I refer to as “dude soup” (or just two guys enjoying a hot tub), we found our way into a pleasant conversation. From there we started asking each other questions until next thing we knew we were getting real. What started out as partially funny “what do you want to do before you die” turned into something real. Something worth our time.

It’s times like these that I cherish most. The times that I can make investments in the lives of others. The times when I can open myself up and not feel scared or judged. There’s something refreshing about quality conversations, I guess it’s the sense of relief knowing that the other party involved isn’t there to determine your worth, but rather to build you up with all that is within them.

I’m not sure that I’d be where I am, nor pointed in the direction that I face if it weren’t for true friendships. This life can be rough, and it is an immense blessing to have people in your life that truly care about you.

As I floated on my back in the pool this evening I stared up at the empty night sky and could see my roommate drying off out of the periphery of my eyesight, and I felt a sense of peace surround me like the water in which I floated. A key point of this life is relationships, and with people in my life like Clement, I think it’s safe to say that I’m doing quite well in that area.

/farmerrobbie

About farmerrobbie

My head is comparable to a field of good soil where seeds land and yield crops a hundred times more than what was sown.
This entry was posted in Community, Friends, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

