Never Bored

I know a few people who suffer from chronic bouts of boredom. I feel bad for them. Now I myself am not immune to boredom, as much as I wish I were, but I have recently found myself suffering through periods of boredom less and less because of a powerful antidote I created a while back. That antidote is simply this: to think.

That’s it, think. Just a simple five letter word.

All the time I have to ponder on things during a lecture, in a waiting room, on the bus, out on a stroll, or eating breakfast is astounding. I’d have to say that those random bits of free time make up a huge chunk of my day and lucky for me, free time is the most fertile soil for thoughts to take root and sprout.

Now I’m not only talking about thinking through the depths of life and meaning, even the simple quirky thoughts can be worth their weight in gold during a storm of boredom. The other day while my teacher was talking about film criticism or her time in Brazil (I honestly don’t know which because I wasn’t paying attention), at least two people in my class were knocked out, about a third of the class was cruising the depths of the internet, and the rest were probably counting the seconds. While all this was going on, I was contently wrapped up in a thought, and that thought was this: how would the teacher, and class, respond if I all of a sudden I let out a shriek and fell back in my chair. That’s it, no reason for this gesture rather than simply adding some spunk into the lecture; and it was that thought that kept me safe and occupied for the entire 80 minute lecture. I could’ve given in to the ritual of hitting the refresh button on facebook, but I didn’t and I think I am better for it because I took my brain out for a stretch rather than rely on others to incite some thought via status updates and cat photos.

It seems as if people’s ability to entertain themselves has been on the decline with the constant availability of various forms of stimuli. Our cell phones not only make calls, but also have the latest edition of Call of Duty, and our computers are gateways into the green green pastures of cyberspace. The possibilities of entertainment are endless, but yet boredom seems more of an epidemic now than it did in the 1930s.

I don’t think boredom will ever be eradicated, but for now a simple and sure fix is getting lost in the adventures of your own mind, because our minds are beautiful things.

I mean think about it.

/farmerrobbie

About farmerrobbie

My head is comparable to a field of good soil where seeds land and yield crops a hundred times more than what was sown.
This entry was posted in Analogous Thoughts, In My Mind, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

