Settling Down, It’s Personal

I’m restless by nature. Often times when I spend an entire day stitched to the couch and/or glued to the television I just feel terrible about about myself and my use of time. To not get out and stretch my body at least once a day seems like a waste. I tell myself that God made this crazy thing called a body, so I might as well put it to good use.

My restlessness doesn’t end there though. I think one of my biggest fears in life is not living out my dreams, no matter how grand they may be. I fear that after college I’ll have to settle for a job at Rite Aide, or submit my fragile frame to construction work instead of getting paid a lot of money to live in Costa Rica tasting local delicacies and sleeping in hammocks.

My outlook on life is done in phases as well. Right now I’m in college, but that phase will be ending soon and then I’ll be moving on to something new, something more exciting. I dream of pinning a map of the world in my living room and every 4 or so years throwing a dart at it and then moving to the location lying beneath the nose of the dart and starting a new phase there.

But when I look upon the lives of my dad and the other influential men in my life, I see a spirit of settlement. The ability to plant roots in a neighborhood, job, church, or gym is prevalent. These great men have spent decades at the same job or house, and honestly, that scares me, but that’s life.

My dreams of adventure and exoticness only exist within the .01% of humans alive today, and the odds that I fall into that percentile aren’t great. Now I’m not saying that we should all give up on our dreams and take jobs as day laborers, but it maybe that the life that I (and possibly you too) so desire is not just found in the remotest places pumped full of adrenaline, but also in the quiet suburbs of middle class America. I mean there’s a number of places left that I have yet to explored by bicycle or foot that aren’t too far away from my current place of residence, why not at least wet my appetite with those?

Anyways, here’s to the mundane and the joy that can come with it.

/farmerrobbie

About farmerrobbie

My head is comparable to a field of good soil where seeds land and yield crops a hundred times more than what was sown.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Analogous Thoughts, Growing Up, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

