C.S. Lewis & the Problem of Pain

After finishing The Hobbit last week I’ve since moved on to reading C.S. Lewis’ The Problem of Pain. I’m not too far into it, but from what I can tell this has to be one of the heaviest Theological works of Lewis that I’ve ever read. About every other page I need to reach for a dictionary and reread a few paragraphs.

Despite all these challenges, I’ve felt that this book has given me a great sense of enlightenment just in the few chapters that I’ve read. As always here’s one of my favorite quotes thus far:

Try to exclude the possibility of suffering which the order of nature and the existence of free wills involve, and you find that you have excluded life itself.

Expect more quotes to follow.

/farmerrobbie

About farmerrobbie

My head is comparable to a field of good soil where seeds land and yield crops a hundred times more than what was sown.
This entry was posted in Books, Quotes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

