Can’t Escape Your Roots

My taste in music has certainly evolved over the years, but deep in my heart there is always a soft spot for the punk/hardcore scene. Whether it be the sense of family I’ve experienced at punk/hardcore shows (which I haven’t experienced at any other show other than mewithoutYOU), or simply a way to blow off a little steam, the punk/hardcore scene will always have me coming back for more.

Last year I had the opportunity to see a magnificent band perform their last California show (although they did not announce the show as such, but broke up later). I haven’t been following Take It Back! for too long, but when I discovered them my heart skipped a few beats. The blending of punk and hardcore as well as the powerful lyrics are enough for me.

Without further adieu, I present to you my favorite Take It Back! song “All That Keeps Us Strong” (and if you’re not into that whole punk/hardcore thing at least be sure to scan the lyrics for some goodness).

You may never understand what this means to me.
All the endless nights of wasted time we will never get back.
Conversation is wearing thin.
I want to feel everything we felt when it all began!

Those endless nights, they were wasted time.
We were so alive.
We felt so alive.
We’re alive!
We’re alive!

We need more of You in our lives!

Fill us with passion and burning desire,
hearts that are holy,
woah,
fill us with passion.

Are you tired of running, running away?
Are you tired of running away?
Are you tired of running, running away?
Are you tired of running away?
Are you tired of running, running away?
Are you tired of running away?
Are you tired of running, running away?
Are you tired of running away?

Brothers and sisters!
We’ve got to stand together.
THIS HOPE IS ALL THAT KEEPS US STRONG!
Brothers and sisters!
We’ve got to stand together.
THIS HOPE IS ALL THAT KEEPS US STRONG!
THIS HOPE IS ALL THAT KEEPS US STRONG!

Are you tired of running?
Oh so tired of running.
We’re tired of running.
Are you tired of running away?

Fill us with passion and burning desire,
hearts that are holy,
woah.

/farmerrobbie

About farmerrobbie

My head is comparable to a field of good soil where seeds land and yield crops a hundred times more than what was sown.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

