Folding Towels & Brightening Days

I work at the UC Irvine Anteater Recreation Center, or simply put, the school gym.

There’s not much to my job. I mainly just swipe people’s ID or lend out basketballs/soccer balls/locks. As for complexity, this job ranks around the level of “a monkey could do it.”

Apart from the endless mountains of towels that I fold, one of the most important duties I perform here is engaging with the patrons.

On Tuesdays I work the ungodly opening shift (5:50-9:00 AM!). The worst part is that the buses don’t run to and from the rec center at 5:50 in the morning, thus I have to leave my apartment at 5:25 in order to make it to work on time. When I arrive I’m normally frozen, hungry, and still half asleep. Nevertheless, I have a job to do.

As the patrons shuffle their way into the rec center, I do my best to offer them a warm smile and a hearty “good morning!” It might not be much, but I know how integral starting the day off right is.

A single person has the power to both make a good day or ruin a day, and since I’m one of the first persons people see on Tuesday mornings, I’ve taken it upon myself to make their mornings as encouraging as possible. A mere comment about the weather or if they are truly awake goes along way in the three seconds I have to interact with these people.

It doesn’t take much, but this just might be one of the most important duties I have at this job.

/farmerrobbie

About farmerrobbie

My head is comparable to a field of good soil where seeds land and yield crops a hundred times more than what was sown.
This entry was posted in Community, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

