My Dad

I never thought it to be true, but the older I get the more I realize I share many mannerisms with my dad. I always thought of myself as being more like my mother, but when I step out of my head for a while, I realize that I resemble my dad.

For starters, this summer my aunt commented that I sound almost exactly like my dad, which I took as a huge compliment since I fear that I sound a little too much like Steve Urkel, and not enough like Burt Reynolds. Also, I’ve come to the realization that I enjoy talking with people, much like my father. I’ve always admired his ease with words and conversation. For a while the fear of being conversationally inept plagued me, but recently conversation topics and a general interest in others has occurred easier than ever, and I feel I have my dad to thank for that.

In the past few months I’ve begun to notice that the way I reason is similar to my father’s. He always has these different solutions to problems that no one else ever comes up with, and most of the time they’re incredibly creative and beneficial. But every so often his creativity trumps practicality, and he comes up with a ridiculous solution. It is in this ridiculous reasoning that I see the greatest similarities between my dad and myself.

Earlier today our refrigerator went on the fritz and began causing the power socket to stop working. My ingenious idea was to remove the light bulb to reduce the refrigerator’s power consumption since it always dies after a couple seconds of being opened. Now I’m no electrician, nor are any of my roommates, but as a collective unit we deducted that the light bulb scenario was more than likely not a cause. Great idea, but once again my creativeness did not match the level of practicality needed to fix our problem.

I love my dad, and becoming more and more like him excites me since he’s full of stories and shows no signs of ever slowing down. Some day practicality will catch up with me, but until then I will continue utilizing the creative solutions that run through my genes.

/farmerrobbie

 

About farmerrobbie

My head is comparable to a field of good soil where seeds land and yield crops a hundred times more than what was sown.
This entry was posted in Family, Growing Up and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

