Heart & Home

“Keep your acres! My home is where my hat is hung…” – Astronautalis (The River, The Woods)

I feel that those lyrics contradict that popular phrase “home is where the heart is,” and rightfully so. What I call my home will constantly be changing. Sure I will someday settle down somewhere along the coast of California with a family, but my life will still be a constant voyage.

There will come a time when my hat graces the same peg everyday, but emotionally, mentally, and spiritually I’ll constantly be moving (and hopefully forward).

It scares me to think that people reach a point in their lives where they feel it is ok to simply stop any form of progress. Our stories are not over until our lives end. Every great story has a driving narrative until the last page. To merely have a character stop her or his journey with 50 pages left for no reason leaves the reader disheartened and wanting more.

Life is a never-ending journey, a story worth living. My home may not always be glorious, but nonetheless it’s my home, and I warmly embrace it.

/farmerrobbie

About farmerrobbie

My head is comparable to a field of good soil where seeds land and yield crops a hundred times more than what was sown.
This entry was posted in Growing Up, Music, Quotes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

