College Isn’t Bad

I remember being in junior high and after seeing this music video thinking that this is what college must be like.  That crazy undie make-out parties were the norm with rock bands and even people in the refrigerator.  About 7 or 8 years later I’d come to learn that this video is full of lies.

I must admit though that my stint at community college may have affected my current college experience. Having gone to community college I spent two extra years living in my parents house bumming around familiar streets with familiar people. A comparison of community college to an extension of high school is not far off (except for the whole getting college credit thing, and paying to take two semesters of badminton).

When I finally transferred into a university I had a sense of who I am and what I wanted in life (mind you I say sense because there is still a lot about my life that is up in the air and undecided). Upon entering I was not fresh from high school and I had those two years to mature and understand how to react to the freedom that comes with moving away from home.

Sure the transition was hard and took some getting used to, but when I think back to junior high and my view of college, I realize that as awesome as it may be, college isn’t much.

My best memories are not from parties or finals, but from the times that I spent around a table laughing with friends. Those nights when we’d cook up a big meal and watch a movie or simply talk. These nights are not gems mined in the quarry of college, but experiences that can exist anywhere at any time.

It’s reassuring to know that the things I enjoy most about college don’t have to end once I receive my BA, but can carry over through the rest of my life.

I look forward to this next year. A little hesitant about what I will do after, but excited to spend one last year here. No matter what happens next, I’m just happy knowing the times I enjoyed the most won’t be coming to an end any time soon.

/farmerrobbie

About farmerrobbie

My head is comparable to a field of good soil where seeds land and yield crops a hundred times more than what was sown.
This entry was posted in Good Stuff, Growing Up, Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

