Soakin’ It In

 

This morning I woke up earlier than usual…8AM! I put the kettle on the stove and got some water boiling, and eventually tea steeping. I packed up my car, stopped for a dozen glazed doughnuts and putted out to Newport. Upon approach I found a golden parking spot in the front row facing the water. Eagerly I parked, got out, and stood near the hood of my car watching the waves peel in.

There’s something magical about waking up with a mission. I normally sleep in, roll out of bed, make some breakfast, read, shower, and shuffle to class. I live a very slow paced life right now, which is both good and bad. It’s nice to have time on my hands, but I rarely get things accomplished (thanks to Netflix and the internet).

These past two days have been kind to me. What little work I have done has paid off recently. Yesterday I got paid, picked up an extra shift at my part part-time job, found a likely internship for the quarter, and really felt a deep appreciation for my life. I haven’t cured cancer, purchased a house, or anything else immense, but these little victories are victories nonetheless.

Every once in a blue moon I get the feeling that my life is not full of meaningful accomplishments, things worth celebrating. If all I have in this life is the time that is given to me, then I sure as hell don’t want to waste it or let it pass by quickly without getting the most out of it, but these past couple of days have been a great encouragement to me.

I stepped into my wetsuit and scurried my way to the water. While doing my pre-surf stretches I scanned the breaks and marveled at all the people on surfboards spending the morning harnessing the power and beauty of the ocean. There’s a lot in this world that bums me out and makes me question what I am doing with my life, but it is days like these past two, and especially mornings like today, that lift my spirits and show me how truly blessed I am to be where I am with all the lovely friends that I have.

So I paddled out, soaking in the beauty of life all the while.

/farmerrobbie

About farmerrobbie

My head is comparable to a field of good soil where seeds land and yield crops a hundred times more than what was sown.
This entry was posted in Good Stuff, Summer, things of inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Soakin’ It In

  1. Tyler Smith says:

    Great post Robbie! Your writing skill is seriously getting more awesome with each post. Enjoy that socal surf!

Leave a Reply

