Bears, Beowulf, Battlestar Galactica

I just finished reading Beowulf, and tomorrow I am leaving to Yosemite to spend some days in the wilderness. What do these two things have to do with each other? Well to be honest, nothing. Sure I can make some parallel about Grendel and the bears in Yosemite who attack backpackers hoping to score a Cliff bar or package of Ramen, but I feel that’s too much of a stretch. Instead I will leave you all with a quote from the great Beowulf himself:

I meant to perform to the uttermost what your people wanted or perish in the attempt, in the fiend’s clutches. And I shall fulfill that purpose, prove myself with a proud deed or meet my death here in the mead-hall.

/farmerrobbie

About farmerrobbie

My head is comparable to a field of good soil where seeds land and yield crops a hundred times more than what was sown.
This entry was posted in Analogous Thoughts, Summer, Travels and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

