Summer Blues

I’ve been home for about a week and a half now and I haven’t done much. My basic day consists of sleeping in until 11 AM, making breakfast, going for a bike ride, and applying for jobs. So far no one has gotten back to me about getting a job, thus my days seem to drag on. I’ve been on a good reading kick lately, but still, I’m not making any money and I’m getting restless being at home most of the time.

I got a breath of fresh air over the weekend when my good friend Ben and I drove south to surf (it also helped that I had a meeting to attend at my university’s Rec Center). It wasn’t much, but to me it was enough. That little escapade scratched my adventure itch and has helped to sustain me through this week.

Slowly my summer is coming together (concerts, camping, CPR training), but those only happen once ever few weeks, which leaves the majority of the time open.

I recently sunk to a new low and applied at a temp agency. I guess you can compare me to The Office’s Ryan Howard. Hopefully this time things come to fruition, but whatever happens, happens.

Through this lull in my summer I’m trying to do my best to remain positive and hopeful. Slipping into despair over my current economic situation is easy, but I know that despair will not do me any good. I was not made to be joyless in unfavorable conditions, but rather joyful. Any pessimism that spews forth from me is under my control, and only I am the one to blame for my attitude during this situation.

When I truly take time to think of my situation I see all the possibilities that lay before me. Without a job I am free to explore the greater Monterey County on my bicycle, take time to tackle all the books that lay unread on my bedroom floor, or go through my closet and donate all the clothes I’ve grown out of or simply don’t wear. There are jobs to be done, they may not pay, but nonetheless something is better than nothing, and as a plus they can help the time pass better than 4 straight hours of Regis & Kelly.

/farmerrobbie

About farmerrobbie

My head is comparable to a field of good soil where seeds land and yield crops a hundred times more than what was sown.
This entry was posted in Growing Up, Summer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

