I Wish…

 

I wish a nice lady would join me in smokin’ a cigar in a cigar store

I remember when I first saw this movie back in 2008. There was something about it that really struck me. The whole package of this movie is captivating and well made, but there was definitely something more about this film that resinated with me.

On a normal day I focus myself on getting through it. I wake up knowing what I have to do and look solely at what needs to be done. Rarely do I take time to think about what I wish to happen. It is as if I accept what life has in store for me daily and just do my best to get by. If I am truly in control of my life, then why do I conform so easily to things I don’t want to do?

I’d love to watch the sunset every day, meet at least one new person, learn a good joke, or read a book for pure enjoyment, but often these things fall outside the category of the things that need to get done. My life has become so routine that any new additions seem impossible to add, but when I accurately look at the ways I spend my day I can easily find pockets of time that I waste on youtube, facebook, or twitter. I wish I could complain about being stretched for time, but the truth is that there is plenty of time in each day, I just don’t disconnect long enough to realize it.

There’s a lot I wish to accomplish everyday, and whether or not I accomplish them is something of which I am in charge. Once again, as my dear friend Gandalf said, “All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.”

/farmerrobbie

About farmerrobbie

My head is comparable to a field of good soil where seeds land and yield crops a hundred times more than what was sown.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

