Hi, how are you?

No, no, no I am not in Gary, Indiana. I am still here in Irvine, California. There’s just something about the iconic “Greetings from…” post cards that I enjoy. There’s something more personal about these postcards than the ones of nice scenery and cows. It’s as if the sender really thought of me when they sent this little treasure.

Recently I’ve been trying to become better at conversing with others that I am not too familiar with, and one trick that has helped me is the art of the greeting. Just like a house, you cannot have a solid conversation without a good foundation. I’m sure that a lot of people start their conversations with the always available “how are you?” (which in my opinion is completely fine); but I want to create conversations that mean something. Conversations about more than the weather or questions that can be answered with words like good, fine, or swell.

Recently I’ve been a fan of asking people more specific questions about their weekend/break/class schedule. Such as, “what did you do this weekend?” “Did you accomplish a lot?” “Did you learn anything interesting this weekend?” These topics have led me to partake in conversations that actually get somewhere and help me learn more about the other person, which in turn helps me start future conversations a lot easier.

Another part of the greeting that helps me is being sincere. I don’t want to be the type of guy who simply says hello out of politeness, I want to mean what I say. Whether I let loose a “hi, how are ya?” or some other common greeting, I want to truly be curious in how the person’s well being is. It’s far too easy for me to go around campus in a trance waving at faces that I recognize and mumbling half hearted greetings. I am learning to accept that everyone is worthy of my time and sincerity.

In closing I am excited to launch a new blog and hopefully keep the password somewhere where it won’t go missing. I hope all is well with you and that you are truly having a good day.

~farmer robbie

 

About farmerrobbie

My head is comparable to a field of good soil where seeds land and yield crops a hundred times more than what was sown.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

