spilled coffeeI have the same ritual every morning. I wake, use the bathroom, start my coffee, start my oatmeal, eat, wash dishes, shower, and dress. Each morning I find comfort in the familiarity.

Some mornings don’t go so smoothly though. I hit the snooze button too many times. I spill my coffee. My oatmeal boils out of the pot. I take too long eating. I take too long showering. It’s a rude awakening. A bad way to start any day.

Maybe I’m going soft with my age, but bad mornings affect me more. Being five minutes late stresses me out. I curse and speed all the way to work, trying to make up time. More negativity.

Luckily along with age I’ve been blessed with more self awareness. I know when I’m in a bad mood, I know how I affect others, I know how futile my negative thoughts are.

So I try.

I try to calm myself. I reaffirm who I am. I’m not only five minutes late, I’m a lot more. I try to keep things in perspective. My spilled coffee didn’t hurt anyone, so why let it anger me? I try to forgive myself. I’ve been forgiven from a lot more. Learn from this, and move on.

It is me and my thoughts that make a morning bad, and they, my thoughts, either build me up, or tear me down. They’re always moving; but thankfully I have control over them, and even spilled coffee is still coffee.

/farmerrobbie

About farmerrobbie

My head is comparable to a field of good soil where seeds land and yield crops a hundred times more than what was sown.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Growing Up and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. carbonribs says:

    heck ya self awareness! your “J-ness” is so good! it’s funny because i’m trying to become more time oriented and constantly fail miserably at routines. haha
    growth areas.. pshhh…

Leave a Reply

